top of page
Search
  • tarasalvati

Finding 'The Finer Things' with State Champs

Updated: Sep 25, 2022


How the New York band's debut has helped them continue to dominate the alternative rock scene.

State Champs (L to R: Ambrosio, Szalkowski, DiScanio, Graham)


When I think of musicians that consistently play their older music, State Champs come to mind. Despite having three full length albums (with another on the way), each live show they play is filled with a blend of all their albums.


To me it feels like State Champs continue to play music off their debut album, 2013’s The Finer Things because the album launched them into one of the biggest names in the alternative rock scene. The current line-up of the band includes lead singer Derek DiScanio, bassist/vocalist Ryan Scott Graham, guitarist Tyler Szalkowski, and drummer Evan Ambrosio. Back in 2013, the band was a quintet and Graham had yet to join the band. Despite the line-up changes, The Finer Things has lived on as a beloved alt rock album.


The Start


The Finer Things is a rock album, through and through. The tempo is constantly upbeat, the guitars soar, DiScanio’s voice is simultaneously rough and sweet, and there isn’t a ballad in sight. While some may see the absence of a ballad as a lack of writing ability, I’d point you towards the two EPs State Champs have released of acoustic tracks, one of which followed their debut, called The Acoustic Things. This EP featured songs from The Finer Things, slowed down, as well as two new songs. The Champs have found success with their music writing formula by playing into ‘pop punk tropes’ like the off-beat silence before the final chorus. But it works: it doesn’t feel tacky or forced, it feels fresh and natural.




On the road, State Champs got their footing in the scene on their first Van’s Warped Tour, where they kept getting put on bigger stages to account for the number of people who would come to watch. This led to them to be featured on the main stage on the final Warped Tour in 2018. They’ve headlined their own tours, and recently, co-headlined 2019’s Sad Summer Festival.

Live Standouts


Live stand out tracks from The Finer Things include “Hard to Please,” “Remedy,” “Mind Bottled,” “Easy Enough,” and “Elevated.” To me, these songs also represent some of the best that the Champs have to offer in terms of musicality. Mostly, they’re high tempo, fun, and something you just have to mosh to. “Remedy” is one that sticks out because of the beginning of the song. The opening couple lines sets the scene for the entire song. Derek DiScanio sings the lyrics, usually on top of a small, elevated platform the band jumps around on, with Szalkowski’s guitar accompanying him. After a beat of silence, the drums, guitars, and bass kick in. Being in the crowd means a lot of screaming, jumping, and a mosh pit breaking out after the lead-in.



Easy Enough” is one of my favorite songs. There’s a lot of standout lyrics that are moving and makes me want to listen to it on repeat. My favorite part of the song is the breakdown in the middle. The lyrics, “It’s hard enough for me to say this / Easy enough when you’re the faceless / It’s impersonal / I just thought you should know” repeat until the music builds back up, with Ambrosio’s drums leading the way, into an explosion of sound that even if you didn’t know the lyrics, you’d want to jump around to.


The Champs


I’ve been lucky enough to meet every member of State Champs more than once. The first two times I met Szalkowski it was at a different artist’s concert. State Champs weren’t playing, I just attended concerts near the Champs’ hometown. I met Szalkowski the first time at an All Time Low show and while our interaction was brief, he was super sweet and was probably shocked he got recognized. The second time he was with DiScanio at a Blink-182 show. I felt bad because I was one of the first people who recognized them, causing more people to come up and ask for photos.


Clockwise starting Top Left: Tyler Szalkowski & I 2016; Derek DiScanio & I 2016; Ryan Scott Graham 2018; Tony Diaz, Tyler Szalkowski, & Derek DiScanio 2018; Evan Ambrosio & I 2019


The next time I met them was two years later at a short meet and greet at Warped Tour, I got a poster that all of them signed that still hangs in my bedroom today. When I saw them at Sad Summer Festival in 2019, I was able to hang out and talk with Evan Ambrosio for an hour. He was lovely. He asked us all our names, we talked about the Mets, and how it was odd The Maine were playing last instead of State Champs, as it was practically a Champs home show. It’s a memory that I treasure, especially since I didn’t want to ask for a photo and ruin the moment, but Evan insisted on taking one with everyone who was hanging out.


State Champs Show Experience


I’ve always thought Champs shows were rough. Circle and mosh pits are common sites, but either way, the energy is electric, and if you expect to walk away from a show without bumps and bruises, you’re incredibly naïve. I’ve gotten punched in the back of the head, had multiple crowd surfers get dropped on my shoulders and head, and gotten pushed into many mosh pits. But it’s all part of the experience and it’s fun.


One of the State Champs shows I’ve attended was their annual Frozen Fest in their hometown. They were also celebrating the five-year anniversary of The Finer Things. The entire album was played, and the crowd was so electric, it was one of my all-time favorites. Upstate Concert Hall (now Empire Live) is small and dingy, but it’s the perfect place for up-and-coming bands to play. State Champs have long outgrown the venue, but keep coming back, probably for the nostalgia. The crowd at this Champs show was buzzed with excitement. As good as their sophomore record, Around the World and Back was, nothing hits a note within a music lover like nostalgia. There were endless amounts of crowd surfers, and often DiScanio’s vocals were drowned out by the crowd, literally yelling the lyrics back at him.


Derek DiScanio December 29, 2018

Frozen Fest, Clifton Park, NY

Photo by Tara Salvati


There are staples off The Finer Things that State Champs play often, mainly because they’re popular, like “Elevated,” or “Hard To Please;” however, I’ve seen “Mind Bottled” at almost every Champs show. I think I’ve seen it performed at every show, apart from festivals. It’s one of my personal favorites from the album, but it’s not what a lot of people would consider a standout track. It’s one of those B-side songs that you don’t ever expect an artist to play live; and I don’t know why State Champs have played it so many times (maybe they know it’s my favorite). My best guess is that they just like playing it, and don’t care if people think it’s an odd choice.


State Champs 2021

Photo by Ellie Mitchell


If you’re looking for a gateway into the alternative music scene, State Champs is the place to start. Their music has a nostalgic feel to it, though it’s modern and fun. Their lyrics are made to be tattooed on people’s skin, and the members are sweet and are eager to talk to fans. While their shows are rough compared to the likes of The Maine or Grayscale, it’s doable and fun. If I can survive it, so can you. Champs tickets are also relatively cheap, the most I’ve paid for a headline tour is $35. So, what I’m really telling you is that there’s no reason not to see State Champs live, they’ll probably be going on tour in the summer since they’re releasing a new album soon so start saving, The Shot Boys will be back for another summer of good music.




What do you think? Leave a comment below!

You can follow State Champs on social media:

Twitter @State_Champs

Instagram @statechampsny

Twitch @statechampsny

Comments


bottom of page